Basketball Diary 1.0

No no no, believe me I’m not a drug addict, I just didn’t know what to title this article so we’re just going to talk basketball because right now there are no brakes, it’s all gas, and it’s all gas on the basketball season. Another Andy Dalton to the Bears article? Another Cubs must sign Nick Castellanos article? I mean, hell yes on the both of them, but I’m already boring myself with this shit. Last night I took out the old reliable legal pad and starting jotting down my thoughts on every team that came up in my mind. Hence the diary. I’ve been a little light on the basketball content and now we’re picking it up.

  • The Milwaukee Bucks are so dominant that we have to take notice. The biggest question will be does Giannis have enough surrounding him to win a championship? Last year it was no. This year? Maybe they need another shooter, but this year I really think Giannis and the Bucks can win a championship. He is so good, and his supporting cast is better than what everyone gives them credit for.
  • I really like this Celtics team, and for some reason I feel like I’m alone. Kemba is playing the best basketball he’s ever played, nobody is laughing at Jaylon Brown’s contract anymore, and I feel like the expectations for Tatum are just unrealistic and this point in his career. You walk into a game, or even a playoff series, and you have those three guys healthy, then I’m feeling pretty comfortable in seeing them walk out with a win. I have to believe Gordon Hayward will get better. I mean this guy just can’t catch a break. Before he actually fractured his hand we saw the Utah Hayward show up and it took Boston to a whole other level. If Hayward can get back to that, Marcus Smart, and if they add a defensive prescense in the paint like a Tristian Thompson or Andre Drummond this team can make the Finals and it wouldn’t feel odd.
  • Are we done with Kyrie yet? I swear Kyire and Odell Beckham Jr are the same people. No matter what they always have to be the center of attention, and wherever they go there is always a problem or problems. Guess what? If there’s a problem on every team that you’re on, maybe you’re the problem and we’re the ones that aren’t crazy. Just shut the fuck up because every time we hear Kyrie speak it’s like he’s digging more and more holes for himself and for his team. Sorry if I’m coming off strong here, but I really liked this Brooklyn team last year and I think Kenny Atkinson is a damn good coach. I don’t wanna see this team tank and I don’t wanna see a head coach take the fall for Kyrie’s annoyance.
  • When are we going to admit that this Philly thing just isn’t working? As talented as Embiid is, (best big man in the NBA) he’s just not going to stay healthy. There’s a special style of basketball that you need to implement in order for Ben Simmons to succeed. If you made Ben Simmons available for a trade, which ever team wants him we’ll need to completely rebuild their roster to where it fits Ben Simmons. I gave him one more year to figure out the shooting, now I’m out. He hasn’t figured it out and I don’t think he ever will. If the Sixers make another early exit in the playoffs, you have to seriously consider trading one of those two, and in all honesty between Embiid and Simmons, I might be trading Joel Embiid as crazy as that sounds.
  • I know the Pacers are 29-16, and I know that Victor Oladipo is coming back soon, but I really don’t think it’s going to be that big of an upgrade as much as people think. I love Oladipo and I don’t wanna rip the team because 29-16 without their best player is still impressive. Brogdon, who has Milwaukee kicking themselves for paying Bledsoe, and Sabonis is the second best big man in the east. Indiana has a fun group of players who play great team basketball. Naturally when they get their best player back you expect them to make a huge leap. We’ve seen this before with star players. Paul George and Gordon Hayward are perfect examples. When they comeback from serious injuries it takes them a couple of years to get back to what they used to be. Oladipo returning is nice. I just don’t see it being a huge upgrade, yet, to where we can put Indiana on the level of a Boston, Miami, or Philly. Nobody is on the level of Milwaukee.
  • Folks, it’s happening. Stop worrying. We have a few months of suffering left, but after a few months, change will make its appearance. Attendance is dwindling, nobody gives a shit, I can’t even wear my Bulls pullover without feeling embarrassed, and two players (Coby and Lauri) have called out the coaching staff for their lack of game planning and strategy. It’s the LaVine show, Coby has no direction, Lauri is nothing, and Wendell Carter when he’s healthy disappears. Boylen will be gone, and Gar Foreman will be out the door with him.
  • Is Houston any good? No seriously, are they really any good? They have no depth! What the hell happened? I know they showed up last night and whooped Denver, but how about the last two weeks? Now I can’t kill Harden because the guy is averaging 37 points. Who does that? But I’m sorry to take another victory lap here, the Westbrook thing isn’t working, Clint Capela’s picture is being put on street light poles as we speak, and Eric Gordon is having one of his worst seasons as a pro. I’m not buying this team at all, and to be honest if this doesn’t get straightened out in the next two-three weeks, I can see them telling Russell Westbrook to go kick rocks. What can they get for Westbrook? God knows. As we know right now, it’s not working, and it’s not looking good. Harden has to shoot lights out every night. When he gets to the playoffs this guy is exhausted, just like we saw his last three playoff performances. I’m sure after three years of playoff failures, the fourth will be exactly the same.
  • Oklahoma City Thunder fans are low key the most excited they’ve been about their team since Kevin Durant was still on this team. If they aren’t, they’re either lying to you or they’re delusional. It’s not a one man show anymore. They don’t have to do everything the Westbrook way. They have young talent that are developing under a system with a point guard who’s not hogging the ball and taking all the shots. Billy Donovan can finally run the show, SGA is becoming a stud, Danilo Gallinari is earning himself another multi-year contract, and Chris Paul is rejuvenating his career while playing for the Thunder. How many stars that are the caliber of CP3 would bitch about going to OKC? He hasn’t bitched once and that’s going to get noticed by fans, executives, and writers, for years to come. Paul has been a total pro and we haven’t seen this Chris Paul since the Hornets days. OKC is a playoff team with a million draft picks to work with, and it makes me ask, is there a franchise in a better position?
  • If the Mavericks don’t sign Joakim Noah by today, then what are they doing? Noah looks incredible, and when you go head to head with LeBron in the playoffs you’re going to need that mental edge. Joakim vs. LeBron again? ALL IN!
  • And lastly, we get to the Pelicans. Zion made his debut and it was AWESOME. Not sure where to begin. Should we get to the fat shamming? His minutes? How about his passing? Or the fact that he looks like he’s trying to run before he even begins to start walking? The first half was extremely disappointing. It was actually so bad that I started to worry. His movements are awkward, he runs and walks weird, he looks too big to even be playing basketball, but the second half started and Zion showed up and set off some fireworks. 17 straight points in the 4th quarter, 22 in total, his passing was incredible, and even though the Pelicans lost last night, the Pelicans just may have won the future. Zion will make his money while driving to the rim and finishing with a monster dunk. He was the “dunk guy.” The Spurs built this brick wall so that he wouldn’t dunk all over Jakob Poltl, and Zion said no problem. He’s been working on his jump shot, he was hitting threes, and it just made everyone more excited for his future. I’m still worried about the way he makes, and I’m still worried about his weight, but the Spurs gave him one option and that option was to shoot. Zion took advantage and his career is off to one hell of a start. Keep containing his minutes, and please please please stay healthy. Pelicans are looking good. Ingram is putting together an all star season, Jaxon Hayes has an exciting prospect, Lonzo Ball looks more comfortable and his shot is looking smoother, Jrue Holiday is the closer, and JJ Reddick is that sharpshooter off the bench. I’m telling you guys, watch out for the Pelicans.

Twitter: @realJohnStocco

Facebook: The 77 Sports Stop

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close