NBA: 2021 Eastern Conference Predictions.

Boston's Jayson Tatum and Jaylen Brown get playoff basketball lesson No. 1

Concluding our conference predictions with the Eastern Conference, and for the first time I think the East has the edge this year. It’s weird this year. I think the Western Conference is better outside of the top 8 teams, I think the East has more better teams in seeds 2-7, but then I think the West has the best team in the league in the Los Angeles Lakers. It’s weird, but the point being the Eastern Conference is going to have a lot of fun moments this season because go ahead and try ranking these teams, it’s impossible. Anything goes, there will be shocking moments, and some surprise teams that might just creep up or creep out of the playoff picture. Let’s look at the league’s top storylines in the East.

An incredible fatal four way match.

This is what I was talking about where the East just blows the West out of the water. The Eastern Conference has the greatest fatal four way match in the history of fatal four way matches. The Bucks are the number one seed, but look at teams 2-5. Brooklyn Nets with the comebacks of Kevin Durant and Kyrie Irving. The Boston Celtics with Tatum and Brown continuing to get better. The sharpshooters of the Miami Heat. Then there you have the Philadelphia 76ers who could have James Harden. All throughout the regular season, and the playoffs, I’m watching these teams as much as I can this year.

Does James Harden get traded to the East this season?

At first I didn’t think Harden would be traded this season, but now I’m actually convinced he’s gone, and he’s probably gone with PJ Tucker. I don’t see a trade happening with the Brooklyn Nets which leaves the Sixers as the only option for the Houston Rockets which wouldn’t be bad for Houston. I’m still a believer in Ben Simmons, he just has to get away from Embiid. If you’re Houston, why would you take a couple of C players with a boat load of picks coming from Brooklyn when you can have a B+ player that could turn into an A player you have around a championship team? It has to be Harden for Simmons, and if I’m the Rockets I actually pull the trigger. Harden’s production won’t change. This team with Harden still lives or dies with Joel Embiid, and with Doc Rivers riding Embiid all season you hope to see Embiid take care of his body better so they can stay healthy, and move quicker out there.

Is this the year Jayson Tatum arrives as the next superstar?

I’ve said it for the last 3 years that I would give up my left leg for Jayson Tatum to be on the Bulls. I love this guy, and I love his game even more. You started seeing the superstar levels that Tatum can go to late last season, and even though he failed in the bubble, Tatum got back into the gym, he looks stronger, and Brad Stevens the other day comes out and says Tatum is now listed at 6’10. Name another player who’s 6’10 with the athleticism, shooting ability, and the quick twitch-ness to his game? I’ll answer that for you, Kevin Durant. He has all the makings now of being a top 10 player in the world. It’s all there for his taking.

Eastern Conference Predictions:

8, Washington Wizards.

  • You know I wanted to do it, I know I wanted to do it, but I just couldn’t. This is a prediction piece so I have to put my bias aside. The Washington Wizards are better than the Chicago Bulls. Bradley Beal is a top 20 player in the world entering his prime, Davis Bertans is one of the most underrated scorers in the league, and if Russell Westbrook plays like the Westbrook we saw in the second half of last season in Houston where he doesn’t need to be the ball dominant guard, and who plays really good defense, I could see the Wizards as the 7th seed, but I’m testing the waters with Washington. For all we know next month Bradley Beal is going to want out because you know, Russell Westbrook is such a revered teammate.

7, Indiana Pacers.

  • The Pacers are the safe pick for the 7th seed. Victor Oladipo has a lot to prove. Now that Giannis has signed the supermax, with LeBron, Gobert, and Paul George signing extensions, there are no big names in free agency next offseason. I can’t imagine Kawhi and Blake Griffin opting out of their $34 million, and Chris Paul opting out of his $39 million. Looking at the list of free agents right now, Oladipo and Kyle Lowry are the closest thing to All Stars so there’s a lot of money on the line for Oladipo, especially for someone who was once looked at as a rising star in the league before the injury. Potential comeback year for Oladipo, and the Pacers are good enough to just get in.

6, Toronto Raptors.

  • The Raptors are still scrappy enough to compete, and they have a top 3 head coach in the NBA. They’re overachievers so would I be surprised if they’re much higher? Not at all. The Raptors left a bad taste in my mouth in the bubble. Siakim didn’t look right at all, and it’s made me take a step back on what I think of him. Still a very good player and a player you can win with. They lose Ibaka and Gasol which will hurt them, but the Raptors are banking on big breakout seasons from OG Anunoby and Chris Boucher.

5, Philadelphia 76ers.

  • Harden trade or no Harden trade, the Sixers are going to be better. They have a better general manager who isn’t afraid to make moves halfway through the season, they have a smarter front office who might find an analytical way to play Ben Simmons and Joel Embiid at the same time, and they have a better coach. They improved their shooting, and got rid of Al Horford. Sixers are a better team.

4, Miami Heat.

  • There’s really nothing to hate about this Miami Heat team. We know who Jimmy Butler is, someone who’s a top 15 player in the world, and consistent on both sides of the ball every year. A sharpshooter in Duncan Robinson, and two up and coming stars in Tyler Herro and Bam Adebayo. They play hard, they’re coached extremely well, everyone loves them coming out of the bubble, there’s nothing to hate about this Miami Heat team.

3, Brooklyn Nets.

  • I am laughing at all the possibilities with this team. That Kyrie Irving and Kevin Durant instagram live video thing was one of the most funniest cringeworthy things I have ever seen. It could go so wrong with it being Steve Nash’s first year as a head coach, and players who love their points like Spencer Dinwiddie going to be asked to take a step back. Out of respect to Kevin Durant, who’s a top 3 player in the world when 100%, and Kyrie Irving who’s one of the best pure scorers in the league, the Nets make it work in year one.

2, Boston Celtics.

  • When they sell on the Boston Celtics, I buy on the Boston Celtics. I am making my mark that Jayson Tatum is going to be looked at as one of the best players in the world. I think the offense will run smoother without Gordon Hayward, and one of the most underrated signings of the NBA free agency period was the Celtics bringing in Tristan Thompson. The perfect player they’ve needed for years, and if you didn’t know, which why should you? Thompson played for the Cavs, he had a career year last season improving his shot on all levels of the court. Averaging a double-double, almost at 40% from the three point line. If that Tristan Thompson shows up, and Kemba stays healthy, with Tatum as my biggest riser, the Celtics have a legit shot at winning the East.

1, Milwaukee Bucks.

  • I can’t bet against Giannis. No dark cloud over the organization, they know they have Giannis, Middleton will be fine, and Jrue Holiday is an upgrade over George Hill and Eric Bledsoe. The Bucks will finish with the best record, and they’ll win the East with ease.

Twitter: @fakeJohnStocco

Podcast: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-77-sports-stop/id1469124249?i=1000502729807

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close